Preliminary Program

Monday, February 6, 2012
08 :00 – 09 :30 Registration
  Coffee, Tea, Croissant, mounting poster
9:30 - 10:20 Opening and Plenary session I (Amphimax)

Welcome by :  Michael O. Hengartner (UNIZH), President USGEB
L. Scapozza (UNIGE) Chair USGEB 2012


Plenary lecture I (40 min)
Prof. Sheng Ding, Gladstone Institute of Cardiovascular Disease, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of California San Francisco USA
Title:  A chemical approach to controlling cell fate

10:30 - 11:00 Coffee / Industry Exhibition
11:00 – 13:00 Satellite Symposia session 1

Symposium 1:
Swiss Society for Cell Biology (ZMG) (Amphimax)
Title: The many faces of gene expression. from signaling to translation
Chair person: Prof. Francois Karch, University of Geneva


Symposium 2:
Swiss Society for Pharmacology and Toxicology (PHA) (Amphipôle B) Title: Therapeutic strategies for vaccination: novel insights
Chair person : MD PhD. Stephan von Gunten, University of Bern


Symposium 3:
Swiss Society for Anatomy, Histology and Embryology (ssAHE) (Amphipôle C)
Title :Targeting of tetraspan membrane proteins for modulation of junctional and paracrine cell-to-cell communication
Chair person : Prof. Paolo Meda, University of Geneva

13:00 – 15:00 Lunch  with Posters and Industry Exhibition viewing  / Coffee
15:00 – 17:00 Satellite Symposia session 2

Symposium 4:
Swiss Society for Microbiology (Amphipôle B)
Title: Viruses meet cell biology
Chair persons: Prof. Stefan Kunz CHUV, Lausanne & Prof. Urs Greber, University of Zurich


Symposium 5:
Swiss Physiological Society (PHY) (Amphipôle C)
Title: Pathophysiology of endothelial/stromal interface
Chairman: Dr. Lubor Borsig, University of Zurich

17:00 – 17:40 Plenary session II (Amphimax)

Plenary lecture II (40 min)
Prof. Sir Tom Blundell, Department of Biochemistry, University of Cambridge, Cambridge CB2 1GA, UK
Title:  The structural interactome and drug discovery: targeting protein-protein interactions

18:00 – 19:30 Apéro

All participants are invited to attend the apéro

Tuesday, February 7, 2012
9:00 - 10:20 Plenary session III (Amphimax)

Plenary lecture III (40 min)
Prof. Gerhard Klebe , Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the Philipps-University of Marburg, Marburg, Germany
Title:  Molecular Recognition in Protein-Ligand Complexes: What drives the Binding? 


Plenary lecture IV (40 min)
Prof. Dario Neri, Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences, ETH Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland
Title:  Drug Discovery in Academia: Challenges and Success Stories, with a Focus on Biotech Drugs.

10:30 - 11:00 Coffee / Industry Exhibition
11:00 – 13:00 Satellite Symposia session 3

Symposium 6:
Swiss Society for Biochemistry (SSB) (Amphimax)
Title: Shaping ligands by proteases
Chair persons: Prof. Margot Thome-Miazza, University of Lausanne & Prof. Marcus Thelen, Institute for Research in Biomedicine, Bellinzona


Symposium 7:
Swiss Laboratory Animal Science Association (SGV)
(Amphipôle B)
Title: The chemistry of behaviour
Chairman: PD Dr. Prof Beat Riederer, University of Lausanne
The symposium will be credited as training (half day).

13:00 – 15:00 Lunch  with Posters and Industry Exhibition viewing  / Coffee
15:00 – 16:30 Plenary session IV (Amphimax)

Plenary lecture V (30-40 min)
Prof. Kai Johnsson, Institute of Chemical Sciences and Engineering, Institute of Bioengineering, NCCR Chemical Biology; EPFL; Lausanne; Switzerland
Title: Searching for the protein targets of bioactive molecules.

Selected 15’ lectures from poster abstracts
Lecture I: Dr. Florent Beaufils, Basel University
Title: Chemical Control of Intracellular Signaling Cascades

Lecture II: Dr. William Bisson, School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Geneva
Title: Future of Drug Repurposing: Old Drugs, New Opportunities

Lecture III: Dr. Alok Behera, University of Zurich
Title: Improved L-tryptophan FRET biosensor for measurement of real time transport and visualization of subcellular tryptophan levels in live cells

16:30 – 17:30 Plenary session V (Amphimax)

The 2012 Friedrich Miescher Award (30 min)
Presentation of poster awards

17:30 – 17:40 Closing remarks/End of the Meeting